All-American evening session highlights Day 2 at the Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic

8-3-21—SLOANE STEPHENS WINS A POINT DURING HER STRAIGHT SETS VICTORY OVER CATHY MCNALLY DURING THE EVENING MATCH AT THE MUBADALA SILICON VALLEY CLASSIC ON TUESDAY EVENING. Courtesy of Sports Radio Service

by Marko Ukalovic

SAN JOSE–Sloane Stephens was down in an early hole in the first set and then won the next eight games in a row as she cruised to victory over Catherine McNally in the featured evening match on Day 2 of the Mubadala Silicon Valley Classic at the San Jose State Tennis Complex.

Stephens beat McNally in straight sets 6-4 6-2 in an all American showdown that was the crescendo of an eventful day two in the South Bay.

Stephens looked sluggish getting down 0-4 early to McNally to begin the match. However she rebounded well and got her game going by winning the next eight games in a row, six to win the first set and then the first two games of the second set before McNally regrouped and won the next two.

Stephens looked sharp in the final four games to wrap up the match and head into the second round on Thursday.

“Obviously at the beginning it wasn’t what I wanted to do,” Stephens said regarding her slow start. “Once I got going and the rallies started going my way, I was able to execute my plan. Things got easier. I found a way to counter.”

Stephens was familiar with the Bay Area, even though it had been nine years since set stepped foot on a Bay Area tennis court. Originally from Fresno, Sloane’s stepfather, who’s from the area, would bring Sloane up to the area to play in tournaments when she was younger.

“We used to come up here a lot to play. I have really great memories of playing here. My favorite barbecue restaurant is here. I have a lot of family here and obviously the fans I haven’t seen in a long time. I’m just happy to be back,” Sloane said.

Australia’s Ajla Tomljanovic came from behind to defeat American Amanda Anisimova in a three set-thriller 1-6 7-5 7-5. Down 5-4 in the second set, Tomljanovic broke serve to tie even the score. She went on to win the next two games to even the match at one set a piece.

Once again the 28 year old Croatian-Australian was down in the deciding 5-3 and managed to storm back winning the final four games to take the match and move on to the second round on Thursday.

“(Being down) in the hole 5-3 (in the third set) was big for me,” said Tomljanovic. “It was a tough game. She had some chances (to close out the match) and I knew that she was going to have serve it up there. And I have broken her a few times (during the match). I actually played a good return game. I definitely had the momentum after that.”

Earlier in the day Kazakhstan’s Yulia Putintseva defeated Croatia’s Donna Vekic in straight sets 7-5 6-3. Putintseva played a strong game using her drop shot as a deadly weapon against Vekic, who could do nothing but admire the play from the 26-year born in Moscow, Russia.

Vekic had many unforced errors, including three double faults, and could not find a rhythm throughout the two sets.

“It was a tough match, she played well,” said the 25 year old Croatian. “I don’t think I played too bad. It’s just in the important points, I didn’t play too well and she took advantage of that.”

Vekic did not use fatigue as a possible factor for her loss as an excuse. She had just finished playing in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics for her home country and flew in from a long flight to San Jose shortly after her time at the Olympics was over.

“I would say I was ready to play today. I didn’t feel tired before the match, I was good to go. It’s just that’s how the schedule goes,” Vekic said.

In other singles action, Kristina Mladenovic of France defeated Korea’s Na-Lee Han in straight sets 6-4 6-4. American Claire Liu beat Ukraine’s Dayana Yastremska in three sets 6-3 4-6 6-4 .

Danielle Collins defeated fellow American Shelby Rogers in straight sets 6-4 6-3 to close out the final match of the evening.

In doubles action, the team of Eri Hozumi (JPN) and Zhang Shuai (CHN) defeated the American team of Makena Jones and Elizabeth Scotty in three sets 6-1 3-6 (10-3). The team of American Emina Bektas and Great Britian’s Tara Moore defeated the other American duo of Peyton Stearns and Maribella Zamarripa in three sets 6-4 1-6 (12-10).

Leave a comment