San Francisco Giants report: Stories from the road with correspondent Jeremy Kahn

July 30, 2017

MLB, San Francisco Giants

AP File Photo: Jeremy Kahn’s road trip started with the San Francisco Giants second baseman Joe Panik (12) leaps over a sliding Los Angeles Dodgers catcher Austin Barnes (15) as Panik tries to keep the throw to second from going to center field in the game between the San Francisco Giants and the Los Angeles Dodgers on Fri July 28th, Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, CA. Photographer: Peter Joneleit. (Cal Sport Media via AP Images)

By Jeremy Kahn

LOS ANGELES-During my 15 years of covering the San Francisco Giants, I have had the opportunity to cover the Giants not only at home but on the road as well.

Starting the 2010 World Championship season and continuing today, I take one road trip a year and I love being on the road for that one week or one weekend, as it is this weekend in Los Angeles.

Actually, covering games on the road preceded the 2010 season, as I covered a game each at Shea Stadium, the home of the New York Mets from 1964-2008 and at Citizens Bank Park, the current home of the Philadelphia Phillies during the 2007 season.

Fast forward those three years to 2010, and I was on vacation in New York and I was able to cover a game at Citi Field, the current home of the New York Mets and then two games at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia.

After leaving Philadelphia, I headed to Washington, D.C., for the third and final leg of my tour and there, I covered the last three games before the All-Star break between the Washington Nationals at Nationals Park against the Giants

Following the 2010 season, where the Giants won their first World Series since 1954, I decided to do this every summer.

I looked at the schedule for the 2011 season and looked at a trip that just stuck out. The multi-city trip began on June 27 with an off day in the Chicago and the games began on June 28 with a day-night doubleheader against the Chicago Cubs at historical Wrigley Field. Despite the sweep in the doubleheader, the Giants and Cubs ended up splitting the four-game series, as the Cubs took the final two games of the series.

My multi-city trip ended with a three-game series against the Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park, the Tigers home since the 2000 season. During that series, the Giants took out two of three in the series against the team that would see 15 months later in the World Series.

The schedule was the following season always comes out around the second or third week of September, and within minutes of seeing the 2012 season schedule, I knew exactly where I wanted to go on my trip.

This trip took me to San Diego and a series at Petco Park, the home of the San Diego Padres since the 2004 season. After seeing the Giants take two out of three from the Padres, it was on to the next city, which happened to be my hometown of Los Angeles and the Los Angeles Dodgers awaited the Giants.

The Giants swept the Dodgers in the three-game series, as they were on their way to their second World Championship in three years.

When the 2013 season began, I saw a trip right around my birthday and it was to two cities I have yet to see a game.

I started in Denver, where the Giants took two out of three against the Colorado Rockies at Coors Field.

After the three-game series and an off-day, the Giants began a three-game series against the Arizona Diamondbacks at Chase Field.

Like the series in Denver, the Giants took two out of three in Phoenix against the Diamondbacks. This was the first time I had ever seen an indoor game in person, as the roof at Chase Field was closed for the weekend.

The tour continued with my first ever trip to Marlins Park in Miami, a city and a state I had never been to as well.

Yes, the Giants took two of three on this trip to Miami; however, the trip almost ended after the first night, as I suffered a personal tragedy with the passing of my Aunt Maureen, whom I donated my kidney to in May of 2007.

Per the encouragement of my parents, I decided to continue on with the trip and head to Philadelphia after the game on Sunday afternoon.

Yes, I was heading to Philadelphia was my third time in the past eight years; however, I was finally covering the Giants and they took three out of four on their way to their third World Championship in five years.

The 2015 trip took me to the National League Central, where I covered a three-game series at Busch Stadium, the home of the St. Louis Cardinals. As for the series it was not good, as the Cardinals took of three from the defending World Champions.

Like the previous trips, this was a multi-city trip that ended with a four-game trip to PNC Park, the home of the Pittsburgh Pirates and this series went to the Pirates, as they took three out of four.

With my trip last season, I headed to the American League East and to two legendary cities and stadiums.

The Giants played a two-game series at the oldest stadium in major league baseball, Fenway Park in Boston, the home of the Boston Red Sox since 1912. Despite the fact that the Giants were swept by the Red Sox, just being at Fenway Park for a game for just priceless.

After an off day, it was on to my second and final stadium of the trip and this was too Yankee Stadium that opened in 2009. The Giants lost two out of three to the New York Yankees; however, being in that stadium was a treat in itself.

This season, it was an easy road trip down to Los Angeles and go to Dodger Stadium, which is where my love for this great sport began way back in 1977.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

