San Francisco Giants report: Road trip continues in the City of the Angels

July 29, 2017

MLB, San Francisco Giants

AP File Photo: Los Angeles Dodgers announcer Vin Scully and former San Francisco Giant outfielder Willie Mays two of JJ’s childhood memories come together in this October 2, 2016 photo at AT&T Park during Scully’s last day as a Dodgers announcer

By Jeremy Kahn

LOS ANGELES-Once again, it is time for the Where is Jeremy Kahn World Tour with the San Francisco Giants.

Granted, the Giants are not having the best season; however, I still needed to my annual road trip and it brought me back home to my hometown of Los Angeles and Dodger Stadium.

As I sit here in this magnificent stadium that just recently celebrated its 55th birthday back in April, it dawned on me that it was 40 years ago on June 14, 1977, that my father brought me to my first ever Dodgers game. Yes, we left early; however, from that day on, I was hooked on baseball.

Over the next 25 years, I spent my summers at Dodger Stadium with my family, friends and my youth group from Congregation Beth Kodesh.

There are so many memories that I have of coming to games here during those years that I still remember to this day.

Yes, my first game on June 14, 1977 was memorable; however, my second game was pretty impressive as well.

It was July 23, 1978, and the Dodgers were playing the St. Louis Cardinals, but it was what happened in the parking lot before the game that was pretty special in its own right.

Back then, and still today, the Dodgers hosted an Old-Timers Day and the list of luminaries were endless. I remember seeing Roy Campanella, Don Newcombe, but then I saw Willie Mays and even as a six-year old I knew he was a special baseball player.

Came to a game on my seventh birthday, where they put my name on the scoreboard in left field.

Remember coming to three games in a five-day period from July 27-August, 1980 and the Dodgers won all three. They won in extra innings on Sunday, Jerry Reuss threw a one hour 45-minute gem on Wednesday and then Joe Ferguson ended Friday night’s game with a walk-off home run

I came to Opening Days with my dad and friends. Sat in the old dugout section that was near the team’s clubhouses. I saw Fernando Valenzuela in his rookie year against the Cincinnati Reds despite the fact that I was sick the day before, and my mom said I could not go; however, my dad was like you are going.

Never saw a playoff game here, but I did see my high school win their first City Championship here on June 4, 1987, as Canoga Park High School hung on to defeat Poly High School 5-4.

I returned here as a media member in 2012, as the Giants and Dodgers were fighting each other in the NL West; however, the Giants swept the series on their way to their second World Series Championship in three years.

Now I am back for the weekend and walking around here brings back those memories, saw some old friends last night and today.

Still one of the most picturesque stadiums in all of professional sports.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

